BECBC celebrates Business Award winners 2016

Posted by Hazel Duhy on . This entry has not been categorised.

BECBC celebrates Business Award winners 2016

At a gala dinner last night, Britain’s Energy Coast Business Cluster (BECBC) announced the winners of its Business Awards 2016.  The atrium at Energus was packed with almost 300 VIP guests and representatives of Cumbrian businesses, from major players such as the co-sponsors, Sellafield Ltd and NuGeneration Limited, to less familiar names and guests from across the UK and beyond.

“The awards attracted a record number of entries from across the Business Cluster membership of over 330 companies,” said BECBC Chairman, Ivan Baldwin.  “No other awards so clearly celebrate the collaborations among businesses working to make this part of Cumbria successful, prosperous and a great place to live and invest.  Tonight celebrates big organisations and familiar names but also smaller enterprises and projects that might usually slip under the radar.  All of them are worth recognition and the range and scope says something important about the membership of the Business Cluster too.”

The BECBC Business Awards 2016 were hosted by Kim Inglis and representatives of the sponsoring companies announced and presented the awards during a glittering evening.

The winners were as follows:

Excellence in Health and Safety
Sponsored by LLW Repository Ltd

Winner: Nuvia Limited

Business Innovation
Sponsored by Innovus

Highly Commended: Forth Engineering
Winner:  Rovtech Solutions Ltd

Sustainability and the Environment
Sponsored by NuGeneration Limited

Highly Commended: West Cumbria Composting Ltd
Winner: University of Cumbria

Socio Economic Commitment to West Cumbria
Sponsored by Nuvia Limited

Winner: Livingstone Surface Treatments Limited

Inspiring People
Sponsored by Morgan Sindall and ARUP in joint venture

Highly Commended: TSP Engineering
Winner: NIS Limited

Growing Business of the Year
Sponsored by RSM UK

Winner: Prima Uno Limited

Small Business of the Year
Sponsored by CNSL

Winner: Responsive Ltd

Large Business of the Year
Sponsored by Sellafield Ltd

Highly Commended: James Fisher Nuclear Ltd

Winner: Westlakes Engineering

In his speech at the opening of the evening, Martin Chown, Supply Chain Director of Sellafield Ltd, announced: “Tonight is all about good news and I’m delighted to be able to share a big change in the way that Sellafield Ltd will do business with its supply chain in future. From first thing on Friday morning (18 November), Intellectual Property (IP) rights for the innovation and ideas in our supply chain will stay with those companies. Sellafield Ltd will then work with them to exploit that innovation and IP around the world.”

Tom Samson, Chief Executive of NuGeneration Limited, followed Martin on stage and commented on his first experiences of local companies: “I’ve seen first-hand how Cumbria works and I’m hoping that the existing active and vibrant supply chain, represented by the Business Cluster, will be a great pathway to doing business in future.”

Two local charities benefited from the generosity of guests on the night with total donations being split equally between Calderwood House, a hostel for the homeless in Egremont, and Cumbria Youth Alliance, which supports young people across the county to reach their full potential.  There was also a prize draw organised by Shill’s of Cockermouth, sponsors of the evening’s wine, which was won by Kerry Crossingham.

As Ivan Baldwin concluded: “There are going to be lots of opportunities for Cumbria to do big things in the coming years but it’s great to see that Cumbrian businesses are doing big things right now!”

Click here to see all Awards and finalists videos


The winners of the BECBC Business Awards 2016 - photo by James of Walker Ellis Photography
Front left to right: Steve Phelps (Rovtech Solutions), Sarah Purdoe (Prima Uno), Andrew Branthwaite, Trevor Owen and Andy Hooper (Westlakes Engineering).
Back left to right: Mike Lewis (Nuvia), Eddie Blackmore (Livingstone Surface Treatments), Lee Grears (Responsive), Janice Bradley and Gill Marsden (NIS Limited), John Berry and Kim Shuttleworth (University of Cumbria).