Shortlists for BECBC Business Awards 2018 announced

Posted by Hazel Duhy on in Cluster News, Cluster Events, Member News.

Shortlists for BECBC Business Awards 2018 announced

Britain’s Energy Coast Business Cluster (BECBC) has announced the shortlists for its Business Awards 2018 as well as news of a new Start-Up Business category in association with Solomons Europe and details of the Rising Star of the Year (sponsored by Nuvia).  The shortlists feature more than 21different businesses and collaborations in seven categories, sponsored by a range of BECBC member companies and organisations.  

John Grainger, Stakeholder Relations Director for BECBC, chaired an independent panel of shortlisting judges made up of Tracy Stainton of Burnetts Solicitors, Kathryn Jackson of Kathryn Jackson Coaching and Richard Arnott of RSM UK.  “The judges were presented with the second largest entry in the BECBC Awards’ history,” said John, “and there were a lot of high quality entries so it was a tough job shortlisting them.  The revised SME Innovation and Creativity and new Collaboration categories have proved particularly popular, giving us a big challenge in reducing these to three or four finalists in each category.”

The categories, sponsors and shortlists are as follows:

SME Innovation and Creativity Sponsored by Cumbria Innovations Platform and Eco-Innovation Cumbria

Shortlisted companies:

  • NSG Environmental Ltd
  • PacTec EPS
  • Thomas Graham & Sons Ltd

Collaboration Sponsored by Orano

Shortlisted companies:

  • Centre for Leadership Performance
  • CNSL (including several BECBC members)
  • Energus
  • NSG Environmental Ltd

Socio Economic Commitment to West Cumbria Sponsored by Balfour Beatty

Shortlisted companies:

  • Franks Portlock Consulting Ltd
  • Nuclear Community Network
  • Wood

Inspiring People Sponsored by NIS Limited

Shortlisted companies:

  • Baines Wilson LLP
  • Hospice at Home West Cumbria
  • The Energy Coast UTC

Growing Business Sponsored by Prima Uno

Shortlisted companies:

  • Adamedia Ltd
  • i3 Decommissioning Partners (including several BECBC members)
  • PaR Systems Ltd
  • Responsive Ltd

Micro Business of the Year Sponsored by Wood

Shortlisted companies:

  • Adamedia Ltd
  • DMA Safety Management Ltd
  • The Harrison Network

Company of the Year Sponsored by Kaefer

Shortlisted companies:

  • Balfour Beatty
  • Energus
  • Prima Uno Limited
  • TSP Engineering

Expert judging in each of the seven categories shortlisted so far will take place over the summer with judges visiting the shortlisted companies and talking to entrants to find the winner in each category. Winners will be announced at the Gala Dinner at Energus on Thursday 22 November 2018. 

Tracy Stainton has been involved in the shortlisting process for the BECBC Business Awards since 2014: “The range of those shortlisted says a lot about the Business Cluster’s membership, their innovations, their growth, their socio economic commitment and their collaborations. I don’t envy the judges their job over the summer but look forward to celebrating their decisions in November.”

The shortlists for three categories are still to be announced. Entries for the Start-Up Business Award have a deadline of Friday 24 August 2018 and will involve the sponsors, Solomons Europe, in the shortlisting and judging process. They are celebrating 20 years in business by donating the £1,000 cash prize and offering a business loan to the winner and there is still time for new businesses to join BECBC and put in any entry before 24 August. The same deadline also applies to entries for a new Developing the Next Generation Award, created by members of the BECBC Shadow Board and aiming to celebrate the best of the opportunities offered to young professionals in Cumbria. Details of both of these are on the BECBC website. 

A shortlist for Rising Star of the Year, sponsored by Nuvia, will be announced at the August meeting after nominations from members during July and with voting by members during August. 

“The Business Awards have grown and evolved and continue to receive tremendous support from local businesses both through entries and through sponsorship,” said Tom Scaife of Baines Wilson LLP and a member of the BECBC Management Committee. “We’ve got a major organisation like Sellafield Ltd as our Main Event sponsor for 2018 but then a less well-known name, Cairnhill Structures, sponsoring the dinner. Former winners such as Kaefer and Prima Uno are sponsoring categories this year too and it’s always encouraging to see relatively recent members getting involved with entries. Not every company shortlisted is a familiar name but that’s part of the purpose of the Business Awards – celebrating successes, raising awareness and showcasing the best of Cumbrian business.”

For further details of the Awards and the remaining sponsorship options (ranging from £275 to £3300) see online or please contact Hazel Duhy, BECBC Admin Manager.


PHOTO: Shortlisting judges, Kathryn Jackson, Tracy Stainton and John Grainger (Richard Arnott not shown).