Skip to Main Content
Awards 2024

Non-executive directors announced

Sizewell C has published details of the non-executive directors who’ve been appointed to support the project as it continues its development and prepares for full construction.

The non-executives will provide the project, led by co-managing directors Nigel Cann and Julia Pyke, with unrivalled expertise in nuclear construction, infrastructure development and finance.

David Waboso CBE, FREng had a long career in the rail industry and in 2014 he was awarded a CBE for services to transport. He has been an expert adviser to the Licensee Board of EDF Generation since 2016. He supported the business during a period which saw record output from the nuclear fleet, life extensions and the transition into defueling and decommissioning. Since 2019, he has been a non-executive director at Hinkley Point C, Sizewell C’s ‘twin’ project in Somerset. His experience across engineering, supply chain management, project systems and integration will be invaluable as Sizewell C seeks to maximise the benefits of replication.

Jouni Silvennoinen is the Senior Vice President at Teollisuuden Voima (TVO) in Finland and Project Director at the Finnish nuclear power station, Olkiluoto 3. He has been involved in that project from the beginning of construction through to the start of commercial operation in April this year. Olkiluoto 3 is the first operational EPR reactor project in Europe and now supplies millions of homes with low carbon power. It has helped to strengthen Finland’s energy security and is celebrated as the country’s greatest climate act.

Richard Noble has more than 12 years of experience as Chairman and Group Head of Energy, Infrastructure and Industrials at Nomura International. He has led a wide range of large, high-profile financial transactions in the energy and infrastructure sectors, including those involving nuclear power. He has advised clients in the UK and abroad, often on projects with heavy involvement of the government or regulators.

These three advisory roles will sit alongside Rob Holden, CBE who was appointed as non-executive Chairman after serving the project as a non-executive director since 2015.

Rob Holden, CBE has led the financing and delivery of some of the UK’s most significant transport infrastructure projects. He is former CEO of London’s Crossrail (the Elizabeth Line) and of London & Continental Railways (LCR) where he led a series of transactions that secured the future of the Channel Tunnel Rail Link (later renamed High Speed 1). Rob has been Chairman of London City Airport since 2018 and serves as a non-executive director of Electricity North-West. In 2009, he was awarded a CBE for services to the rail industry.

Co-managing directors, Nigel Cann and Julia Pyke said of the appointments:

“We are extremely fortunate to have a team of such distinguished non-executive directors whose vast experience in key areas will strengthen the expertise we have on the project. We look forward to their continuing support and scrutiny as we prepare to start construction. Being able to secure some of the best people in their field underlines how important this project is for the country.”

By supplying low carbon power to 6 million homes for at least 60 years, Sizewell C will be a cornerstone of Britain’s future clean energy system, helping to boost the country’s energy security while lowering costs for consumers.

The project is being jointly funded by EDF and the UK government. Last month, Sizewell C and its shareholders launched the process to raise further equity from private investors with the aim of reaching Financial Close next year.

Non-executive directors announced - Sizewell C